Good Golly. I can wire wrap!

I had no idea. No clue that I could wire wrap until May 20th 2014. I stumbled across a programme on TV late one night and watched this demo of a woman wire wrapping a crystal. This caught my interest as ive always loved working with crystals in a healing, metaphysical, capacity. Now, when I say crystals I dont mean the ones that are made by that famous company that sounds like ‘four-off-key’ and are actually a type of glass, I mean genuine gemstones made by Mama Nature!

I had tried years ago, unsuccessfully to try jewellery making years before but that was before demo’s on TV, easy access to real wholesale prices online and so on. I decided to try again and watching the wire wrapping demo, and wire wrapping was what I always wanted to try but didnt know how, I thought “I could do that!”. So I ordered some wire and some crystal strands. A few days later im looking at a pile of goodies that the posties delivered thinking “Eeeek! What have I got myself into?”. I was kind of freaked out at the failure potential levels but after a cleansing breath I picked up my pliers and wire and started my jewellery journey!

Im so glad I took the plunge! Too my great suprise, just three weeks later, im starting to get commissions. And not from friends and family being charitable either. A lot of these wonderfull folk were complete strangers. I admit, it gave my confidence a great boost and I kept thinking “How can this be? Ive never done it before, no one has taught me”. Im thinking the subtle Aspergers syndrome came to my aid here. I have an ability to watch or listen to something and be able to reproduce it. Something I did a lot whilst learning to sing when I was a kid. I only needed to hear a song once and I was ok. This seems to have carried over into other areas I was not aware of. Also, due to the Aspergers, I LOVE repetative things. For example I love to knit. Not for the garment at the end but for that repetative movement that creates it. Well its all good! It may have been difficult to cope with whilst at school but hey, I knew it would come in usefull one day!

So im currently about 6 weeks into my jewellery making journey, I still have comissions which is awesome and an honour, and I LOVE it!

Never be afraid to try something new because you never know what undiscovered talent you may have!!!

image

This entry was published on July 5, 2014 at 3:10 am. It’s filed under CRYSTALS, NEW DESIGNS, WIRE WRAPPING and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment